Find out the serious consequences of not reporting a car accident in Tennessee and the types of information it is important to provide.
Car accidents happen quickly and to the safest of drivers. You could be traveling to work or running errands one minute and involved in a crash the next. Often, it is the reckless actions of others involved that are to blame. Our Nashville car accident attorneys explain why you need to file a car accident report in Tennessee and how it could help you get compensation in a claim.
Consequences of Not Filing a Car Accident Report in Tennessee
The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security advises drivers that a car accident report must be filed in the aftermath of any crash resulting in personal injuries or property damages in excess of $400. An Owner/Driver report specifies the details surrounding the accident and the people who were involved.
Car accident reports in Tennessee must be filed within 20 days of an accident. You have an obligation to file this report regardless of who was at fault. Not filing an Owner/Driver report could have serious consequences, including:
- Automatic suspension of your Tennessee driver’s license and vehicle registration;
- Suspension of non-resident driving privileges if you have a license from another state;
- Fines and other costs for reinstatement once the suspension period is over;
- Loss of vital information about your car accident, which is important in proving the other driver was at fault and in getting compensation for your injuries.
Information That Should be Included in a Tennessee Car Accident Report
Car accident reports are required under Section 55-12-104 of the Tennessee Code. The law also dictates the types of information that should be provided. This includes:
- Names and contact information for all drivers involved;
- Each driver’s license, registration, and insurance information;
- The exact date, time, and place the accident happened;
- A personal statement regarding whether any of the drivers suffered property damages in excess of $400;
- A personal statement regarding whether you or anyone else involved suffered personal injuries.
It is important to note that an Owner/Driver report is required in addition to police reports. You will need both when filing a car accident claim in Tennessee. Be aware that insurance companies scrutinize these reports. Stick to the basic facts and avoid speculating on the causes of the crash both in your report and when talking to officers at the scene.
Request a Consultation With Our Experienced Nashville, TN Car Accident Attorney
It is important to file a car accident report in Tennessee when a crash or collision results in personal injuries or property damages. However, before making statements to insurers or accepting a settlement, reach out to Bednarz Law first. We protect your rights and help you get the compensation you need to recover in a claim. To request a consultation, call (615) 256-0100 or contact our Nashville car accident attorney online today.